Vishvabrahmins are divided into five gotras or clans, each a Rishi named in the Yajurveda. (4.3.3)
Sanaga (Son of Manu (Shiva))
Pancha Rathas
Pancha Rathas an example of monolith Indian rock-cut architecture dating from the late 7th century located at Mamallapuram, a tiny village south of Madras in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. The village was a busy port during the 7th and 8th century reign of the Pallava dynasty. The site is famous for the rock-cut caves and the sculptured rock that line a granite hill, including one depicting Arjuna's Penance. It has been classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Pancha Rathas shrines were carved during the reign of King Mahendravarman I and his son Narasimhavarman I. Each temple is a monolith, carved whole from a rock outcropping of pink granite. The five monolithic pyramidal structured shrines are named after the Pandavas (Arjuna, Bhima, Yudhishtra, Nakula and Sahadeva) and Draupadi. As noted, each shrine is not assembled from cut blocks of stone but carved from one single large piece of stone. It is likely their original design traces back to wood constructions.
Indian art
The vast scope of the art of India intertwines with the cultural history, religions and philosophies that place art production and patronage in social and cultural contexts.
Indian painting
Somewhere around 1st century BC the Sadanga or Six Limbs of Indian Painting, were evolved, a series of canons laying down the main principles of the art. Vatsyayana, who lived during the third century A.D., enumerates these in his Kamasutra having extracted them from works that are still more ancient. These ‘Six Limbs’ have been translated as follows: 1. Rupabheda: The knowledge of appearances. 2. Pramanam: Correct perception, measure and structure. 3. Bhava: Action of feelings on forms. 4. Lavanya Yojanam: Infusion of grace, artistic representation. 5. Sadrisyam: Similitude. 6. Varnikabhanga: Artistic manner of using the brush and colours. (Tagore.) The subsequent development of painting by the Buddhists indicates that these ' Six Limbs ' were put into practice by Indian artists, and are the .basic principles on which their art was founded.
Buddhist art
Buddhist art originated on the Indian subcontinent following the historical life of Gautama Buddha, 6th to 5th century BCE, and thereafter evolved by contact with other cultures as it spread throughout Asia and the world.
Indian coinage
The Vishwakarma Brahmins minted beautiful coins displaying great artistic talent.
History of metallurgy in the Indian subcontinent
The History of metallurgy in the Indian subcontinent begins during the 2nd millennium BCE and continues well into the British Raj. The Indian cultural and commercial contacts with the Near East and the Greco-Roman world enable an exchange of metallurgic sciences.
History of Indian Science and Technology
The History of Indian Science and Technology begins in the pre-modern era. Archaeological evidence from Mehrgarh (7000 BCE) shows construction of mud brick houses and granaries. Farming, metalworking, flint knapping, bead production, and dentistry, are known to the people of Mehrgarh. The more advanced Indus Valley civilization yields evidence of hydrography, metrology and city planning being practiced on a sizable scale. Great attention to medicine, astronomy and mathematics is seen during the Vedic period (1500 BCE-400 BCE)-which also witnesses the first inquiry being made into the field of linguistics. Construction of stepwells and stupas, use of diamond as a gemstone, and plastic surgery operations become visible during later periods. Indian mathematicians made early contributions to the study of the decimal number system, zero, negative numbers, arithmetic, and algebra.
Jaivana cannon
The Jaivana cannon is the largest wheeled cannon ever constructed. It is located at the Jaigarh Fort, Jaipur.
Yantra Mandir
The Yantra Mandir (commonly known as the Jantar Mantar) is an equinoctial dial, consisting of a gigantic triangular gnomon with the hypotenuse parallel to the Earth's axis. On either side of the gnomon is a quadrant of a circle, parallel to the plane of the equator. The instrument is intended to measure the time of day, correct to half a second and declination of the Sun and the other heavenly bodies.
The Khajuraho temples, constructed with spiral superstructures, adhere to a northern Indian shikhara temple style and often to a Panchayatana plan or layout. A few of the temples are dedicated to the Jain pantheon and the rest to Hindu deities - to God's Trio, Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, and various Devi forms, such as the Devi Jagadambi temple. A Panchayatana temple had four subordinate shrines on four corners and the main shrine in the center of the podium, which comprises their base. The temples are grouped into three geographical divisions: western, eastern and southern. With a graded rise, secondary shikharas (spires) cluster to create an appropriate base for the main shikhara over the sanctum. Kandariya Mahadeva, one of the most accomplished temples of the Western group, comprises eighty-four shikharas, the main being 116 feet from the ground level. These temples of Khajuraho have sculptures that look very realistic and are studied even today. The Khajuraho temples are UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Wootz steel
Wootz steel is characterized by a pattern of bands or sheets of micro carbides within a tempered martensite or pearlite matrix. It was developed in India around 300 BC.
Chennakesava Temple
The Chennakesava Temple, originally called Vijayanarayana Temple, was built on the banks of the Yagachi River in Belur, an early capital of the Hoysala Empire. Amarashilpi Jakanachari received a vision to build the Chennakeshava temple in his native place Kridapura.
Hoysala architecture
Hoysala architecture is the building style developed under the rule of the Hoysala Empire between the 11th and 14th centuries, in the region known today as Karnataka, a state of India. Hoysala influence was at its peak in the 13th century, when it dominated the Southern Deccan Plateau region. Large and small temples built during this era remain as examples of the Hoysala architectural style, including the Chennakesava Temple at Belur, the Hoysaleswara Temple at Halebidu, and the Kesava Temple at Somanathapura.
Hoysaleswara Temple
Hoysaleswara temple is dedicated to Hindu God Shiva. It was built in Halebidu (in modern Karnataka state) during the Hoysala Empire rule.
Chennakesava Temple at Somanathapura]
The Chennakesava Temple at Somanathapura is one of the finest examples of Hoysala architecture. It was built by the famous architect/sculptor Ruvari Malithamma.
Brihadishwara Temple
The Brihadishwara Temple is located at Thanjavur. It remains as one of the greatest glories of South Indian architecture. The temple is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site "Great Living Chola Temples" and this temple is an ultimate testimonial to the Vishwakarmas' architectural cognizance in planning and sculpting.
Sanatana (Son of Maya (Vishnu))

Abhuvana (Son of Tvashtha (Brahma of four faces))

Pratanan (Son of Silpi (Indra))

Suparna (Son of Vishvajna (Surya))
The five gotras are further divided into a total of 25 sub-clans called upagotras. For instance: Virupasksha, Charuhasta, Bhadradatta, Brahmadikshita, Vedapala, Shilpi, Aditya, Yajna, Vipala, Revata.

Post a Comment